So…the question is asked…”Are you now the person that you thought you would be twenty years ago?”

*chuckle*

Interesting question, don’t you think?  I mean, it would be really hard for me to say.   I was such a silly girl with silly ideas about what was important.  All I can say is, whatever I was thinking at 25 could not have remotely measured up to what I have been blessed with now.  I try not to look back.  Not because it was bad.  Not because it was good – but because I can’t change it.  There are a number of things from that time in my life that I am proud of and many decisions I made that I regret.  I was living a life that in many ways would not be representative of the person I am today.  

I don’t know what it was along this journey that influenced my direction and brought me to be the person I am today – except to say that I took things a day at a time.  It wasn’t all smooth sailing.  Bad things happened.  Even tragic things happened but there was always laughter and joy along the way.   

When I do look back I try to focus on the people and experiences from a position of gratitude.  I am grateful for those friends and people who influenced my life and for everything they taught me.   I am also grateful that the mistakes I made taught me to pick myself up and keep going. 

But today, I am most grateful that I can look back and laugh at myself.